Stop and smell the roses

How many times do you ask someone how they are only to hear them tell about their stress? It seems that stress is everywhere – is it the lives we lead or our inability to cope?

I am frequently reminded by my older siblings that when I was a mere toddler how I made reference to my ‘tensions’ being too much – a 1960’s issue also. My life has certainly tested my ‘tensions’ and has caused me to be stressed but I now work hard at keeping things in my control. I practice yoga, mindfulness, look after my nutrition and get outside as much as possible.

However I think the scariest thing about stress, is the way is has become part of our daily lives. It is the ‘daily stress’ in life: getting caught in traffic when you have an appointment, trying to do too many things in not enough time,  constantly comparing ourselves or financial juggling, and the foods we are eating – particularly if they are highly processed foods causing inflammation, can be a damaging form of daily stress.

Things that drain our energy take up a lot of time and leave us feeling frustrated, annoyed or angry. Often by attempting to do too much and not get things finished we are left feeling dissatisfied and unfulfilled, eating on the run with fast foods or nutrient deficient foods can cause major problems. This ‘time stress’ or, as the Japanese call it, ‘hurry sickness’ can create all kinds of stress-related problems including premature aging, eczema, dermatitis and acne, irritable bowel, digestive issues, weight gain or loss, muscular aches and pains, chronic fatigue and migraines. If our stresses are repetitive and we constantly feel that we are always on the go – then chances are its already starting to affect our health, how we look, how we are feeling and……. how we are ageing…..

With stress come a whole load of naturally produced hormones from our adrenal glands to give us increased energy to meet the ‘challenge’. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this – it is our fight or flight response. However when we constantly live in that ‘fight or flight’ mode, we will start to see premature aging; muscle loss and saggy skin; fatty accumulation contributing to cellulite; belly fat and other health problems.

Learning how to cope properly can go a long way to our everyday health, managing stress is all about taking charge of our thoughts, emotions and the way to deal with problems. Don’t try to control the uncontrollable, but do take control of your health.

The way it is,

Heddy

Leave a comment